MINUTES

ALABAMA STATE BAR BOARD OF BAR COMMISSIONERS MEETING

Baytowne Wharf Conference Center Magnolia D Destin, Florida

Saturday, June 25, 2016 (Resumption of Wednesday, June 22, 2016 meeting)

15. NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT

President Portis recognized Commissioner Helmsing, chair of the Nominating Committee for his report. Commissioner Helmsing reported the following nominations:

1. Nominations for Officers and Executive Council:

President:
President-elect:
Vice President:
Secretary:
Executive Council:
J. Cole Portis
Augusta S. Dowd
Monet M. Gaines
Keith B. Norman
Cooper Shattuck
Brannon J. Buck

Brannon J. Buck Jana Garner

Immediate Past President: Lee H. Copeland

Ex-Officio (Past President): Richard J.R. Raleigh, Jr.

2. Disciplinary Board

Panel I

Reappoint Greg Burge, Disciplinary Hearing Officer Reappoint Terri Tompkins Reappoint Laymember Cynthia Burton

Panel II

Reappoint Alicia Bennett, Disciplinary Hearing Officer Reappoint George Parker Appoint Robert Bowers Appoint Emily Baggett Reappoint Laymember Dr. Ken Jordan

Panel III

Reappoint Flynn Mozingo, Disciplinary Hearing Officer Reappoint Laymember Robert Davis

Alternates:

Diandra DeBrosse John Brinkley Andrew Stanley David Martin Audrey Strawbridge

3. <u>Disciplinary Commission</u>

Appoint Monet Gaines as Chair Reappoint Cooper Shattuck Appoint John Smyth Appoint Jana Garner

4. <u>MCLE Commission</u>

None

5. <u>Alabama Lawyer Assistance Foundation</u>

Julia C. Kimbrough – (term ends 2019) Mack B. Binion, III – (term ends 2018) John A. Brinkley, Jr. – (term ends 2017)

6. Alabama Law Foundation

Albert J. Trousdale, II

7. <u>Client Security Fund Committee</u>

- 1. Mike Ballard as Chairperson.
- 2. Re-appoint James S. Ward as Vice Chairperson.
- 3. Re-appoint Gilda B. Williams.
- 4. Re-appoint Timothy Dillard.
- 5. Re-appoint Julia Roth.
- 6. Appoint Kendall Dunson.
- 7. Appoint Craig Cargile.
- 8. Re-appoint Russell Maddox as a lay member.
- 9. Re-appoint Anne Duck as a lay member.
- 10. Appoint Gerald Paulk as a consultant.

11. Appoint Bruce Rogers as a consultant.

FOLLOWING THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE'S REPORT, COMMISSIONER METHVIN MOVED TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS. THE MOTION WAS SECONDED AND APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE.

COMMISSIONER HELMSING MOVED THE ADOPTION OF THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT. THE MOTION WAS SECONDED AND APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE.

16. ADJOURNMENT

President Portis asked if there was any further business to come before the commission. There being none, a motion was duly made and seconded to adjourn.

	Lee H. Copeland
	President, 2015-2016
	J. Cole Portis
	President, 2016-2017
Attest:	
Keith B. Norman	
Secretary	