MINUTES

ALABAMA STATE BAR BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MEETING

Coral Ballroom A Sandestin Hilton Destin, Florida

Saturday, July 15, 2006 (Resumption of July 12, 2006 meeting)

18. <u>RESUMPTION OF MEETING</u>

President Boots Gale reconvened the meeting of the Alabama State Bar Board of Commissioners at 11:00 a.m. in Coral Ballroom A of the Sandestin Hilton, Destin, Florida.

19. NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT

President Boots Gale recognized Commissioner Walker for the Nominating Committee's report. Commissioner Walker reported on the nominations for Vice President and Executive Council. They were as follows:

Vice President – James H. Anderson Secretary – Keith B. Norman Executive Council: Bill Broome, Pam Bucy and Claude Hundley

The President asked if there were any other nominations.

COMMISSIONER PRICE MOVED THAT NOMINATIONS BE CLOSED AND THE SLATE OF OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE COUNCIL MEMBERS NOMINATED BE ELECTED. THE MOTION WAS SECONDED AND APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE.

Commissioner Walker next reported on nominations for the Disciplinary Board of Appeals, Disciplinary Hearing Officers, Disciplinary Board Panels and Disciplinary Commission. Those nominations were as follows:

Disciplinary Board of Appeals

Phil Adams and Sam Franklin - reappointed for 3-year terms.

Disciplinary Hearing Officers

Panel I Billy C. Bedsole (reappointed)
Panel II Richard H.Gill (reappointed)
Panel III James S. Ward (reappointed)
Panel IV James E. Williams (reappointed)
Panel VI D. Leon Ashford (reappointed)

Disciplinary Board Panels

Panel I

Reappoint Robert Brogden
Reappoint Billy Cunningham

Reappoint Leon Garrett - Lay Member

Appoint Jim Pratt

Panel II

Reappoint Gerald Paulk Reappoint Alyce Spruell

Reappoint Dr. Ken Jordan – Lay Member

Panel III

Reappoint Robert Moorer Reappoint Cecilia Collins

Reappoint Robert L. Davis - Lay Member

Panel IV

Reappoint Ron Strawbridge

Reappoint Alan Worrell – Lay Member

Panel V

Reappoint Cooper Shattuck

Reappoint Mims Rogers, Jr. – Lay Member

Appoint Tom Albritton Appoint Greg Hawley

Panel VI

Reappoint Maibeth Porter

Reappoint Billy Mims – Lay Member

Disciplinary Commission

Appoint Rocky Watson Appoint Kelly Lee

Appoint Mike Haney, chair

The President asked if there were any other nominations.

COMMISSIONER STEPENS (HAROLD) MOVED THAT NOMINATIONS BE CLOSED AND THE SLATE OF NOMINEES FOR THE DISCIPLINARY BOARD OF APPEALS, DISCIPLINARY HEARING OFFICERS, DISCIPLINARY BOARD PANELS AND THE DISCIPLINARY COMMISSION BE ELECTED. THE MOTION WAS SECONDED AND APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE.

Commissioner Walker next stated that the Nominating Committee recommended the reappointment of Rick Davidson (Opelika) and Irving Silver (Mobile) for a second term on the Alabama Law Foundation. Commissioner Walker also stated that the Nominating Committee recommended the appointment of Alan Chason of Bay Minette to fill the unexpired term of President-elect Sam Crosby from the 28th Judicial Circuit, Place Number 1.

The President asked if there were any other nominations.

COMMISSIONER ROTH MOVED THAT NOMINATIONS BE CLOSED AND THAT RICK DAVIDSON AND IRVING SILVER BE REAPPOINTED TO THE ALABAMA LAW FOUNDATION BOARD AND THAT ALAN CHASON BE ELECTED TO FILL THE VACANCY ON THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FOR THE $28^{\rm TH}$ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT. THE MOTION WAS SECONDED AND APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE.

20. MOTION TO ADJOURN

President Gale asked if there was any further business to come before the Commission. There being none, a motion was duly made and seconded to adjourn.

	Bobby Segall, President, 2005-2006 Alabama State Bar
	Boots Gale, President, 2006-2007 Alabama State Bar
ΓΤEST:	
n B. Norman, Secretary	