#### **MINUTES**

#### ALABAMA STATE BAR BOARD OF BAR COMMISSIONERS MEETING

Coral Ballroom A Hilton Sandestin Destin, Florida

Saturday, July 12, 2014 (Resumption of Wednesday, July 9, 2014 meeting)

#### 21. RESUMPTION OF MEETING AND CALL TO ORDER

President Rich Raleigh reconvened the meeting of the Alabama State Bar Board of Commissioners at 11:00 a.m. in Coral Ballroom A of the Hilton Sandestin in Destin, Florida.

### 22. NOMINATIONS

President Raleigh reminded the commission of the following slate of officers, executive committee members and appointments as recommended by the Nominating Committee:

#### Nominations for Officers and Executive Council:

President: Richard J.R. Raleigh, Jr.

President-elect: Lee Copeland
Vice President: R. Cooper Shattuck
Secretary: Keith B. Norman

Executive Council: Diandra Debrosse Zimmermann, J. Cole Portis, Henry A.

Callaway, III

Immediate Past President: Anthony A. Joseph

#### **Disciplinary Board**

#### Panel I

Appoint: Lee F. Knowles Appoint: Terri O. Tompkins Reappoint: Robert G. Methvin, Jr. Reappoint: Leon Garrett (laymember)

#### Panel II

Reappoint: Alicia F. Bennett

Reappoint: Dr. Ken Jordan (laymember)

#### Panel III

Appoint: Cliff Mendheim

Reappoint: Robert Davis (laymember)

## **Disciplinary Commission**

Appoint: S. Greg Burge

Reappoint: Christina D. Crow

## MCLE Commission

Appoint: Terri O. Tompkins, Jana Russell Garner and Daryl Burt

#### Alabama Lawyer Assistance Foundation

Reappoint: David M. Wooldridge (term ends 2017)
Appoint: John A. Brinkley, Jr. (term ends 2017)

### Alabama Law Foundation

Appoint: Phillip W. McCallum Appoint: Christina D. Crow

#### Client Security Fund Committee

- A. Appoint Gerald Paulk to serve as Chairperson, replacing Mike Ballard who is the current Chairperson.
- B. Appoint James S. Ward to serve the remaining appointment of Derrick Mills who has resigned his appointment. It is requested that James S. Ward serve as Vice Chairperson.
- C. Appoint Gilda B. Williams to serve the remaining appointment of Sydney Smith who has resigned her appointment.
- D. Appoint Timothy Dillard to serve.
- E. Appoint Russell Maddox to serve as a layperson member for 2014-2015.
- F. Re-appoint Samuel (Sam) E. Neilson to serve as a layperson member for 2014-2015.
- G. Appoint Michael E. Ballard to serve as a consultant for 2014-2015.

## 15<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit Commissioner Vacancy

Elect James David Martin to fill the vacancy in the 15<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Place 6 (replacing Lee Copeland)

COMMISSIONER CROW MOVED THAT NOMINATIONS FOR ALL POSITIONS BE CLOSED AND THAT THE SLATE OF OFFICERS AND APPOINTEES AS RECOMMENDED BY THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE BE ACCEPTED AND APPROVED. THE MOTION WAS SECONDED AND APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE.

# 23. RATIFICATION OF THE JAMES ANTHONY "TONY" MCLAIN PROFESSIONALISM AWARD

President Raleigh asked for a motion to ratify the Executive Council's creation of the James Anthony "Tony" McLain Professionalism Award.

COMMISSIONER FINCHER MOVED TO RATIFY THE ACTION OF THE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL CREATING THE JAMES ANTHONY "TONY" MCLAIN PROFESSIONALISM AWARD. THE MOTION WAS SECONDED AND APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE.

## 24. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

President Raleigh asked if there was any further business to come before the commission. There being none, a motion was duly made and seconded to adjourn.

	Anthony A. Joseph President, 2013-2014
	Richard J.R. Raleigh, Jr. President, 2014-2015
Attest:	
Keith B. Norman Secretary	